Grading Scale

On Tuesday, April 12, 2016, the South Carolina State Board of Education unanimously voted to implement a 10-point grading scale effective in the 2016-2017 school year.  This new scale applies ONLY to courses taken in the 2016-2017 school year and beyond.  All grades through 2015-2016 are calculated using the previous policy.  SCAIHS will begin using this new grading scale in the 2016-2017 school year for all high school courses, including high school courses taken in middle school.  Parents with students in K6 through eighth grades may choose between a graded (using the 10-point scale) and non-graded scale.


10-POINT GRADING SCALE FOR ALL HIGH SCHOOL COURSES (including high school courses taken in middle school):

A    90 – 100
B    80 – 89
C    70 – 79
D    60 – 69
F    59 and below

If a letter grade is issued, the following conversions will apply according to the SC Uniform Grading Policy:
A=95,  B=85,  C=75,  D=65,  F=51


S    Satisfactory
M    Making Progress
N    Needs Improvement
U    Unsatisfactory

Please contact your SCAIHS counselor if you have any questions or need additional information.